Things I Think I’ve Learned in my 27 Years of Life

Well, folks, it’s been twenty-seven years since I entered this crazy world. On this, my day of birth, I would like to reflect back on what I think I’ve learned. I won’t pretend that I’m anywhere near done learning, but I have been feeling rather wise lately. So here it goes…

– Hugs are kind of ok.
When I moved to Portland I was a strict non hugger. I would become stiff as a board as soon as I saw someone come at me with open arms. Portland has taught me that it’s ok to hug. In fact, hugging can be kind of nice sometimes. Did you know that there are studies that show that hugging for six whole seconds (1 mississippi, 2 mississippi, 3…), releases endorphins and makes you happier. Pretty rad.

– People really like getting mail.
I am notoriously bad at sending mail. I never have stamps. Where do you even get stamps? Seriously. But, the few times that I’ve “borrowed” a stamp from someone and actually sent a piece of mail to a friend or family member, it has paid off enormously.

– If I want something to get done, I have to do it immediately.
I carry around a tiny little notebook that I’m constantly scribbling in. When people ask me what I’m writing, I always tell them that I can’t remember to do something unless I write it down. That’s a lie. I can’t remember to do something EVEN if I write it down. After years and years of forgetting to do things like send gramma a birthday card, call a student’s mom, or send a document to my boss, I decided that I have to do something immediately when I think of it or it will NEVER get done.

– My mom is always right.
My mom is not of this world. She is a tiny little psychic or something. As difficult as it is for
me to admit, she’s been right a whole heck of a lot more than she has been wrong. Thankfully, she has never been one to indulge in “I told you so” behaviors.

– I cannot and SHOULD not multi-task.
When I got my first job I liked to pretend that I was capable of multi-tasking. My coworker would be talking to me about something while I would be trying to type up a document at the same time. She would ask me if I was really able to do both things at once. “Of course! I’ve ALWAYS been a multi-tasker!” I’d exclaim. Then, when she left the room I’d look at my document and realize that I’d typed out half of the conversation that we were having. Fail.

– Chocolate chip cookies get you friends.
If you move to a new city and need friends, find your own unique recipe for chocolate chip cookies and make them often for everyone you meet.

– You can never have enough underwear.
No explanation here. When I pack for a trip, I bring enough underwear for a 180 day trip around the world.

– I strongly dislike hummus.
I’ve tried time and time again to love hummus. I just don’t. Please feel free to explain why everyone on god’s green earth likes it so damn much.

– I don’t always need to say whatever I have going on in my head.
I’m far from mastering the art of keeping my mouth shut, but at least I’ve realized how unnecessary it is to say every single thought I have in my head. I do not need to tell the barista that she looks like one of my friends from elementary school. it just makes her feel weird.

– I don’t like stuff.
When I moved in June, I got rid of a lot of stuff. Now, when people walk into my room they probably wonder where all of my things are. They might wonder if I have some of it in storage. I have been much happier since I got a lot of clutter out of my life. No more clothes that I don’t wear, books that I’ll never reference again, make up I’ll never put on anyway, and single earrings that I’ll never find the partner to.

– I like ooey gooey lovey dovey stuff.
I won’t go too much into this, but I can just say that I used to be really cranky about lovey dovey stuff. Perhaps I was just cranky because I didn’t really know what the lovey dovey stuff was. Ponder that.

– I’ve always got ma gals.
For most of my life, I’ve had more guy friends than girl friends. Since moving to Portland, this has changed a lot. I have a solid circle of gals that keep me sane. I read recently in a book I’m pretty into that studies show that both men and women feel more satisfied after discussing feelings and issues with women. I think there’s something to that. By the way, I’m not really big on quoting things or even going back in books to make sure I’m getting facts right. This isn’t school, folks. Hopefully I’m right about all of these “studies” I’m referencing.

– I have much to learn.
I feel like a newborn these days. The rate at which I’m coming to realizations and learning new things about myself is astounding. Stay tuned… it’s pretty exciting.

Things to be happy about 10/04/2011
– I made it to 27.
– My mom arrives at 10:30am.
– My birthday buddy and cousin turns 20 today.
– Two of my favorite people in all of the world will be dining together tomorrow in the far off land of San Francisco. This just warms my heart.
– I have two support staff that make taking personal days really easy and free of stress.

Peace, love, and patchouli – Portland Pollyanna

This entry was posted in Learning and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

