Happy Pills

It rains here.  A lot.  All of the rumors are true.  Painfully true.  I didn’t really notice or care about the rain this winter.  I just had to remind myself that it wasn’t snowing and it was in the 40’s — temperatures that felt like I was in the tropics when compared to the winters that I was used to.  But, at the end of March my mom started to report that temperatures were on the rise at home.  It was then that I realized that it had been raining since November.  It’s still raining to this date.  That’s six months of rain, folks.

Now, don’t get me wrong, there is something really beautiful about the grey skies here.  In fact, it kind of looks weird when it’s sunny out.  The grey just… fits.  But, I would be lying if I said that the weather hasn’t been playing with my emotions.  In fact, about a month ago, I was in a major rain-induced slump.  That’s when I heard about 5 HTP.

People take their supplements very seriously here in Portland.  My co-workers are always talking about the new brand of Vitamin D tablets (aka sunshine in a pill) they’re taking.  At first I just laughed when people told me I should get a few supplements lined up for the winter.  I always said things like “you don’t KNOW what winter is… come to Indiana and I’ll show you winter!”  Well, I’m not laughing now…

Meet my new friend 5 HTP.  This supplement is said to enhance your mood by helping your body produce more serotonin.  It’s also a natural sleep aid — not that I’ve ever had sleeping problems. I decided to try it before I jumped off one of the 294,398,948 bridges here in Portland.

My thoughts?  This vitamin is magic.  I’ve really noticed a difference in my moods.  I no longer get really mad about really stupid things — like David leaving 94,049 cups sitting out on the coffee table.  I’m much more reasonable.  I also feel more energetic and willing to workout after work.  I’m no longer dragging ass at work either  Win, win, win.

As I said before, I have never had a problem sleeping.  When my head hits the pillow, I fall asleep.  I don’t toss or turn or stare at the clock all night.  So, what has 5 HTP done for my sleeping?  Well, it’s turned me into a corpse for eight hours a night!  Just a few minutes ago I asked David if he had gone to bed at the same time as me last night.  I honestly had no recollection of how I got from the couch to the bed or who may have come with me.  It’s either the 5 HTP or David is drugging me.  Once I’m asleep, I don’t wake up until my alarm goes off.  The best part is that I don’t feel at all tired when I wake up.  Amazing.

So, whether you live in Portland, can stand to be a little more relaxed and cheery, or want to experience coma-like slumbers, I would highly suggest 5 HTP.  There are many brands out there, but I would stick to the one in the picture.  Consumer beware:  the package says that you can take up to FOUR 100mg pills per day.  I’m not sure what human can actually handle 400mg per day of this supplement, but I’m assuming that they wouldn’t be up for an interview due to the fact that they have been asleep for the past month.  Please stick with one pill and take it right before bed.  It’s enough… believe me.

*Please note that I’m not a doctor… I think you have to put that disclaimer in blogs to make sure you’re not responsible if anyone dies or something….

Peace, love, and patchouli –

Portland Pollyanna

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

