The Mount Hood Blog.

I really think I should just go ahead and change the name of this blog.  Let’s face it, more posts include a plug for Mount Hood than not.  This one is no different…

The sun came out on Saturday and the temperatures rose to over 80 degrees.  To be honest, I didn’t know what to do with myself.  I was one step away from streaking down the street and doing cartwheels.  It’s been a LONG winter.  Instead of risking arrest (not that naked cartwheels would be anywhere NEAR the most odd thing you can see someone do in Portland) I decided a bike ride to the farmers’ market followed by a hike would allow me to fully enjoy the day.

Armed with my SPF 100, I set out on my trusty steed…

only to be stopped because the bridge was up.

When we first moved here, the bridges coming up for oncoming boats was perhaps the scariest thing I’d ever seen.  I thought it was SO bizarre!  Thankfully I took Hawthorne bridge into the city versus Burnside Bridge.  As you can see, Hawthorne Bridge merely raises from the middle – non-threatening.  The Burnside Bridge has two sides that fold up and create a giant concrete wall in front of you.  I can’t help but think of “Inception” every time I see it…

I wasn’t alone while I waited.  It seemed like everyone was out for a ride!

Old and young.

Trusty steed.

I thought I’d be cute and wear a skirt on my bike – a bold move indeed.  A homeless person screamed “BABY I LOVE YOU!”  when I rode past.  Mission accomplished…

The month of June marks the first month of my new budget plan.  The bulk of my money goes into food and I have been spending upwards of $100 – $150 each WEEK since I started seriously cooking in January.  While I find great pleasure in food and cooking and feel that food is an investment in my overall health, I knew I had to cut back.  My new goal is to spend no more than $75 a week on groceries, and the farmers’ market helps me to do that.

The farmers’ market helps me stick with produce that is in season and therefore cheap.  I was surprised to see one stand of tomatoes at the market.  Tomatoes are not in season here right now.  That would explain why these giant tomatoes were nearly $5 a pound!  After taking this picture, the old lady running the stand told me that she charges 25 cents per picture.

Strawberries, on the other hand, are totally in season!  I purchased three pints of these beauties for a very fair price.  We’ve already eaten about two pints and they’ve been in the fridge for about 12 hours.

I also walked away with a giant bunch of rainbow chard, two heads of butter lettuce, a big ol’ bag of spinach, a bunch of basil, and some asparagus for $30.  Produce usually costs me upwards of $40 – $50 at the store.  I saved big!  If your mouth is gaping open right now at the very idea of spending $40-$50 on produce, understand that I only eat plants.  This includes mostly fruits, vegetables, and some beans, grains, and tofu.

After today’s trip to the grocery store to supplement the produce I purchased at the market, I successfully spent $75.04.  Please overlook the four cents… I REACHED MY GOAL!

After returning from the market and eating some lunch, I left for a seven mile hike through Washington Park.  My final destination was Pittock Mansion – a huge mansion situated at the top of a cliff overlooking the entire city with accompanying views of Mount St. Helens, Mount Rainier, Mount Adams, and, of course, my Mount Hood.  It’s the hike of my dreams, basically.

View of Mount Saint Helens in the first mile of the hike.

Pittock Mansion after about 4 miles and a  strenuous one mile climb.  I wouldn’t mind living here.

The view is alright.

I was salivating. See the big tall gold building?  We live 27 blocks east of it.

Looks like the SPF 100 is doing its job…

Later I made a farmers’ market inspired dinner and then went out for a lovely drink with two lovely friends.  We sat outside.  There was a fire.  It was magnificent.

The sun should really come out more often…

Peace, love, and patchouli -

Portland Pollyanna

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The Mount Hood Blog.

  1. Jennifer says:

    If you get to claim a mountain, then so shall I. Mount St. Helens is mine. It erupted within minutes of my birth, as if to say- Attention world, Jennifer is here. We have a serious connection.

    • It’s yours! That’s a great story! I often refer to Mount St. Helens as “the marshmallow”. When I’m driving it suddenly comes out of nowhere and it looks like a big white fluffy marshmallow since it doesn’t have a jagged top like most mountains. I’m hoping that Mt. Hood doesn’t erupt… I would have to change my tattoo.

  2. Remco says:

    Haha! I recognize the blue bottle that saved my life a couple of times, quenching my thirst!

Leave a Reply

